cirque du soleil

Not really sure how I feel about carnivale. Its a strange strange show. I mean I had no idea that it was very super natural. for some reason it reminded me of Mirror Mask. Which, truth be told, I did not really like that movie. Though my two roomates at the time absolutely loved it. Aaron thought it was okay. Im not really sure as to the connection between Carnivale and Mirror Mask. But something about them is similar. In any case, I am intrigued (regardless of whether or not I liked it) and therefore curious. So bring it on Sam, lets see another episode.

On other notes, Tuesday I saw another masectomy. Only this time I got to see the reconstruction of it. holy crap. coolest thing ever! They detached all the fat in her stomach but left it connected to the muscle. So they cut just below the fascia of the muscle. so picture this if you will (can), you now have a muscle that is connected to the skin layers beneath the fat on the upper chest but not attached to the skin layers in her stomach, then cutting a hole through the inner layers of skin/fat from her stomach to the now hole in her chest (where the breast was), they push said muscle/fat into that empty place. now the fat from her stomach becomes her boob, but as it is still attached to a muscle it gets blood flow and remains happy healthy tissue. then, because the fasacia has been removed, they replace it with pig skin. which they sew in place. and then, in order to prevent bulging in the stomach (with the muscle gone) they add this mesh netting thing that goes throughout the entire abdominal area and sew that in place. oh and i forgot to mention, when cutting out the fat in her stomach, they leave the belly button so that after they sew her up she will still have a belly button even though she lost like 3 inches north and south of it and probably 8 inches east and west of it. it was an incredibly fascinating surgery. holy crap.

further, Aaron and I had a really excellent lunch date today. It was restaurant week in providence. so about 50 restuarants in the area offered these incredible 3 course meal deals. Lunch was 3 courses for 12 dollars and dinner was 3 courses for 30 dollars. We did lunch. We split a pizza apetizer and had garlic bread. and then I had pumpkin ravioli in a pesto cream sauce (absolutely delicious) and Aaron had penne pasta in a pink vodka sauce and then we finished it off with chocolate gelato. All in all, it was a fantastic date. I love dates.

About Ashley Higashi
As of February 2012, I am 26 years old, married, and a first year medical student. I want to help people achieve healthy fulfilling lives and I want to be healthy myself, so that I may serve as a role model. This is why I am in medical school and this is why I became a beachbody coach.

Leave a Reply

